When you leave an online dating site what happens to your profile .. do they delete it or will your grandchildren die of embarrassment when they find out you like disco and roller blading?
The answer lies with each dating website, so it’s important you check this out before joining. The secret is to read the boring small print, not something the sites expect you to do .. so fool them and do it anyway, it can save you a lot of trouble in the future.
What Happens to My Personal Information When I Leave?
There is a cancel membership button on your members home page, when you press this and confirm cancellation of your membership all of your information is removed from the website. We do not store your information or profile details, so once you cancel your membership it is as though you had never joined.
It’s as simple as that, I don’t need to sell peoples information or keep it so I can boast more members than I really have. However not all dating sites are the same.
I like to think we Brit’s haven’t caught the American ’sue anything that moves’ bug yet but we are heading that way and a recent article from Canada about the issue of your dating profiles long and scary shelf life makes for sobering reading.
Always make sure you know what you are signing up to for before joining an online dating service, don’t let the fancy logo’s and images of gorgeous people entice you to join before you have read the small print.